Minutes of the Board of Education Independent School District #2180 Regular Meeting #12 Monday, Junly 10, 2023, 6:00 PM MACCRAY Board Room

Members Present: Julie Alsum, Debi Brandt, Mark Kasella, John Hagemeyer, Scott Ruiter, Carmel Thein. Others Present: Josh Austad, Superintendent; Kim Sandry, Business Manager; Jesse Westbrock, Tech Director; Jim Trulock, Activities Director; Billie Jo Rassat, Clara City Herald.

Chair Julie Alsum called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm. Pledge of Allegiance

Motion by Thein, second by Ruiter, to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Public Comment: none

Approval of Consent Agenda:

Motion by Brandt, second by Hagemeyer, to approve the consent agenda.

Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Adoption of Minutes

Approve payment of bills and financial records.

Approve Teacher Contract - M. Lewison

Communications Reports:

Jim Trulock: Update on Spring Sports

Josh Austad: District update.

Committee Reports/Board Discussion: Athletic Complex, Special Education Suite.

Business Items:

Motion by Ruiter, second by Kasella, to approve the LTFM 10-year plan as presented. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Ruiter, second by Brandt, to approve rate increase for Behind the Wheel Drivers Education from \$200 to \$225 for students that take the classroom portion at MACCRAY, and \$250 if the classroom portion is done elsewhere. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Alsum, second by Thein, for resolution to renew membership in the Minnesota State High School League. Roll Call Vote: For: Brandt, Ruiter, Thein, Alsum, Hagemeyer, Kasella.

Against: none

Resolution passed and adopted.

Motion by Brandt, second by Hagemeyer, to approve the following changes to all bank accounts and signature authorizations – replace Cathy Schueler with Timothy Beseman. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Thein, second by Ruiter, to approve Josh Austad as the Identified Official with Authority. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Thein, second by Alsum, to approve the MREA Membership Renewal. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Ruiter, second by Alsum, to approve updating Policy 522 – Title IX Sex Nondiscrimination by replacing Sherri Broderius with Josh Austad. Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Motion by Ruiter, second by Brandt, to approve the first and final readings of the following policies with 2023 Legislative updates.

Policy 102 - Equal Educational Opportunity

Policy 418 - Drug Free Workplace and School

Policy 419 - Tobacco Free Environment

Policy 424 - License Status

Policy 425 - Staff Development

Policy 506 - Student Discipline

Policy 509 - Enrollment of Nonresident Students

Policy 514 - Bullying Prohibition

Policy 516.5 - Overdose Medication

Policy 534 - School Meals

Policy 708 - Transportation of Nonpublic School Students

Motion carried by unanimous vote.

Meetings and Workshops:

Regular Board Meeting, Monday, August 14, 6pm, MACCRAY Board Room.

Regular Board Meeting, Monday, September 11, 6pm, MACCRAY Board Room.

Regular Board Meeting, Monday, October 9, 6pm, MACCRAY Board Room.

Adjournment of Meeting

Motion by Ruiter, second by Thein, for adjournment. Motion carried by unanimous vote. Meeting adjourned at 7:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Carmel Thein, Clerk Kim Sandry, Business Manager